Who was the US President During the American Civil War?

A house divided against itself cannot stand. I believe this government cannot endure permanently, half slave, half free. I do not expect the Union to be dissolved. I do not expect the house to fall – but I do expect it will cease to be divided. It will become all one thing, or all the other.” – Abraham Lincoln

Abraham Lincoln was the US president during the American Civil War. Abraham Lincoln was the sixteenth US president who was elected to power in the year 1860. He represented the Republican Party. He was the first Republican to receive 180 of 303 electoral votes and forty percent of the popular vote.

On March 4,1861 Lincoln took office as the president of the United States of America. At that time, eleven Southern States declared their secession from the Union. Both, the Republican and the Democratic Party, rejected the secession. The government of the US regarded it as a rebellion.

Jefferson Davis who had formed the Confederate States of America led the civil war against the government. On April 12, 1861 Confederate forces under the leadership of Jefferson Davis attacked the US military base at Fort Sumter in South Carolina. This led to the second war of American independence also called as American Civil War.

The army under the guidance of Abraham Lincoln crushed the secession movement. The outcome of the American Civil War was the ending of slavery. On September 1862, Abraham Lincoln issued the “Emancipation Proclamation” freeing the slaves once and for all. He is, therefore, known as the Father of Emancipation.

Around 620,000 soldiers died in the American Civil War and it is considered as one of the deadliest wars in the history of America.